British Book Design & Production Awards 2016

The BPIF is delighted to announce the winners of the 2016 British Book Design and Production Awards. The Awards were held on 10 November at the dazzling Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in Knightsbridge, central London.

The guest host for the evening was Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE, best known in households across the country for her children’s programmes such as ‘Playschool’ and ‘CBeebies’ Bedtime Stories’. In 2013 Floella was made a Fellow of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust and throughout 2016 has been promoting their Shakespeare in schools initiative. She entertained guests with her literary anecdotes and presented a total of 19 awards to the fortunate recipients.

The judges, who covered all areas of print, design, publishing, book binding and retail, were inundated with over 560 beautifully produced entries, making their task extremely difficult.

Once again, the most popular category with over 90 entries was Best Jacket/Cover Design, won by publishers Pan Macmillan for Not Working, described by the judges as having a “bold, eye-catching cover design that subtly subverts genre conventions”.

Aisling Lee, a student from the National College of Art & Design, took home the Best Student Book prize including a cheque for £500 and the opportunity to complete an internship in the industry for her book 17 Times Over.

The Folio Society were the outright winner of the awards, finishing at the top of three categories including Brand/Series Identity for their Folio Collectables; Best British Book for their reproduction of Alice in Wonderland; and also the coveted prize of Book of the Year for the same title. The judges agreed it was “a worthy winner” and said that “no detail has been left as standard; every element in creating this book has been endowed with the highest specification.”

A fantastic evening was had by all, and the Awards ceremony allowed those that continuously innovate, push the boundaries and embrace new technologies in book design and production to be recognised for their efforts. All finalists were celebrated in a beautiful Book of the Night designed by ThePAGEDESIGN and produced by BPIF member, Boss Print.

The BPIF would like to thank the sponsors and supporters of the 2016 BBDPAs: Boss Print, Burnetts Print Breakdown Specialist, Canon, Denmaur Papers, Fedrigoni, Friedheim, HP, IFS, Kolbus, Muller Martini, Oxford Brookes University, The Bookseller, The Publishers Association and Vision in Print.

Congratulations to all winners and finalists.

To download a copy of Book of the Night click here.

To view winners click here.

Entry for the 2017 BBDPAs will open in March.

Sponsors & Supporters
  • boss-print
  • bpif-logo
  • Print
  • burnetts2015
  • Canon_WEB_logo
  • Denmaur
  • Stampa
  • Fridheim
  • HP
  • IFS_Logo-01
  • Kolbus Logo
  • Muller
  • oxford-brookes
  • The Publishers Association
  • vision-in-print